Interview: Tom Araya of Slayer

Interview: Tom Araya of Slayer

January 25, 2007 02:35 PM
by Paul Gargano
LiveDaily Contributor

In the past 25 years, Slayer has become more than a band; the group has become a rite of passage.

From the first unholy alliance of frontman/bassist Tom Araya, guitarists Kerry King and Jeff Hanneman, and drummer Dave Lombardo in 1981, through the release of their "Show No Mercy" debut two years later, and beyond the onslaught of last year's "Christ Illusion," they've become the very essence of heavy metal's macabre roots, as well as a lightning rod for bands that hope to prey on the genre's unearthly future.

It's been a quarter-century, but even time can't temper the band whose history has been set ablaze by such legendary releases as "Hell Awaits," "South of Heaven" and "God Hates Us All."

LiveDaily sat down with Araya on the eve of the band's upcoming North American tour--a tour that promises more than just bringing Satan back...

Read the full Interview

No comments: